Concealed Carry Links

 
Standard Application
  Temporary Application
  Requirements
  Pamphlet
  Fees & Signs
  FAQs
  Renewal Process
 

We've MOVED: Effective Jan. 4, 2016, the Concealed Carry & Fingerprinting office is now located at 844 US Hwy 42 North, in the building connected to the Jail.

 

APPLICATIONS are available on the links above or in-person at the Sheriff’s Office (844 US Highway 42 North, Delaware, OH 43015).

 

To better serve citizens applying for a Concealed Carry License or renewing a Concealed Carry License, the Sheriff’s Office offers ONLINE SCHEDULING.  Individuals who wish to apply for a license to lawfully carry a concealed handgun must SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT using the red link located below. Walk-ins are NOT accepted.

 

APPOINTMENTS are held at the building connected to the Jail, 844 US Highway 42 North, Delaware. 

 

Appointment times: 

Mondays & Fridays 8:20 am to 2:40 pm

Wednesday & Thursdays 8:20 am to 5:40 pm

 

Please DO NOT bring firearms with you!

 

Book Appointment now

 

Please bring the following with you to your appointment. 

New Applicants:

  •  A completed application
  • One passport size photo
  • A copy of your certificate of completing your 8 hour course
    • If using Military or OPOTA training please provide a copy of DD214 or OPOTA certificate, respectively
  • A valid driver’s license or state ID
  • A self-addressed, stamped envelope
  • If not a permanent Ohio resident, proof of temporary residence [e.g. pay stub (with Ohio employer address), lease, utility bill, etc.
  • Cash or Money Order only to cover the fee
    • If you have lived in Ohio for the last five years - $67
    • If you have lived outside of Ohio in the last five years - $91

 

Renewals: You can renew 90 days prior to your license expiring or any time after it expires. There is no penalty for letting your license expire; you do not have to take another class.

  • A completed application
  • One passport size photo
  • Current CCW license
  • A valid driver’s license or state ID
  • A self-addressed, stamped envelope
  • If not a permanent Ohio resident, proof of temporary residence [e.g. pay stub (with Ohio employer address), lease, utility bill, etc.]
  • Cash or Money Order only to cover the fee
    • If you have lived in Ohio for the last five years - $50
    • If you have lived outside of Ohio in the last five years - $74

 

For questions regarding the issuance of a concealed carry license, contact us at (740) 833-2801 or at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
 

Fingerpinting Services for a Background Check (example: for employment, adoption, etc.)

All fingerprinting will be completed at the Concealed Carry office, 844 US Hwy 42 North, Delaware.

 

TUESDAYS ONLY 8:30 am to 2:00 pm - No appointment needed.

 

Please bring the following with you:

  •  Exact address of where results should be mailed
  • A valid driver's license or state ID
  • Social Security Number (just the number, no card needed)
  • Fee: Cash or money order only

o   BCI only or FBI only $40

o   BCI and FBI $70

o   Ink cards $10

  •  You need to know whether you require BCI fingerprints, FBI fingerprints, or both

If you have questions regarding background checks, please call (740) 833-2801.

 

Please note: If Tuesdays are not convenient, the City of Delaware Police Department offers this same service on Thursdays, located at 70 N. Union St., Delaware, OH 43015.

 
 

Certification by Chief Law Enforcement Officer (example: ATF Forms) 

 

TUESDAYS ONLY 8:30 am to 2:00 pm - No appointment needed.

Certifications by Chief Law Enforcement Officer will be completed at the Concealed Carry office, 844 US Hwy 42 North, Delaware.  

You will need to bring the following with you to your appointment:

  • Completed Application – same as Concealed Carry Application (available at www.delawarecountysheriff.com)
  • Valid driver's license or state ID
  • If you have lived in Ohio for the last 5 years, the fee is $67, or $91 if you have not lived in Ohio for the last five years (Cash or Money Order only)
  • If you have a valid Concealed Carry License from any Ohio county and have lived in Ohio for last five years, the fee is $50. Or, $74 if you have NOT lived in Ohio for the last 5 years - cash or money order ONLY.
  • Competed ATF forms
  • Photos for ATF forms

Please note: Our office has up to 45 days to complete your background check and have the Sheriff sign the forms.

For questions contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..